Steering Group on meat charging

The Steering Group on Meat Charging consists of Industry representatives from the production and processing sectors under an independent chair.


The purpose of the Steering Group on Meat Charging is for the FSA and all stakeholders to work collaboratively to develop a reformed meat industry discount system by July 2014, that prevents inefficiency, supports improving compliance (within a de-regulatory remit); appropriately supports SMEs and provides a more balanced discount arrangement that removes distortions in the market and avoid anti-competitiveness.

Out of scope

The reform of the meat industry discount system is completely separate to any other work on official controls. Although full cost recovery continues to be a Government and FSA policy objective, the issue of full cost recovery is totally outside of the scope of the project.


The Director of Operations, as the Senior Responsible Officer, has overall responsibility to deliver a proposal that will be acceptable to the whole of industry, supported by an Independent Chair, to ensure that there is independent over-sight in the development of any proposal. An FSA Board member will also attend any future meetings and report back to the FSA Board.


The Independent Chair will preside at any future meetings, with the following members:

Bill Stow, Chair, Independent
Jeff Halliwell, FSA Board Member, FSA
Martin Evans, Acting Head of Field Operations, FSA
Karen Bellis, Women's Food & Farming Union
Norman Bagley, Policy Director Association of Independent Meat Suppliers
Stephen Rossides, Director, British Meat Processors Association
Richard Griffiths, Senior Executive Officer, British Poultry Council
William Lloyd Williams, Executive Councillor, National Federation of Meat and Food Traders
Ian Anderson, Executive Manager Scottish Association of Meat Wholesalers
Uel Morton, Chief Executive Quality Meat Scotland
Peter Coleman, Creedy Carver, Merrifield Farm
Mike Bailey, Vice Chairman, National Farmers' Union Poultry Board
John Sleigh, National Farmers' Union Scotland
Hazel Wright, Farmers' Union of Wales
Phil Hadley, Eblex
Mick Sloyan, BPEX Director & AHDB Deputy CEO BPEX
Gillian Gallagher, Ulster Farmers' Union
Phelim O'Neill, Chief Executive Northern Ireland Meat Exporters Association
Richard Collier, Head of Finance FSA Observer
Gary Welsh, FSA Observer

Additional members may be appointed at the discretion of the Chair. The Secretariat will be provided by Suzanne Fred.

Frequency of meetings

It is proposed that the first meeting will be held in late August 2013 where a decision will be made on the frequency of future meetings.

Ways of working

Sub-groups may be convened subject to a proposal from the Chair.