Skip Navigation
Search site

The NHS.UK blog has moved home. You can now find us at

Can you help us improve the NHS Digital site?
Please take this short survey.


International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Health Related Problems (ICD-10)

5th Edition

About this information standard

ICD-10 is a comprehensive classification of causes of morbidity and mortality and is published by the World Health Organization (WHO).

ICD-10 permits the systematic analysis, interpretation and comparison of morbidity data collected in different areas. The specified purpose of the ICD-10 is to provide a means of classifying diagnoses and is defined as a system of categories to which morbid entries are assigned according to established criteria.

This information standard is published under Section 250 of the Health and Social Care Act 2012. An Information Standards Notice (see below) provides an overview of scope and implementation timescales, and the Specification and Implementation Documents provide further detail for those who have to implement the information standard.

Current Release

Release date18/09/2015
Release numberAmd 10/2014
Release titleICD-10 5th Edition
Key documents
Supporting documents
Further informationHSCIC Clinical Classifications Service: ICD-10
Close iCM Form