Joint Committee


The Joint Committee leads JNCC and has overall responsibility for its work. The Accountability Framework Document, Management Statement and Financial Memorandum provide the legal, administrative and financial framework within which the Joint Committee operates.


The membership of the Committee is defined in schedule 4 of the Natural Environment and Rural Communities (NERC) Act 2006. Current members are as below.


The Committee meets four times in March, June, September and November. Members discuss strategic nature conservation and organisational issues as well as making high-level advice, strategy, funding and planning decisions.


The Committee is committed to the principle of open government and has been holding open meetings since 2001. Members of the public are welcome to attend meetings as observers except when confidential issues are being discussed. Agendas and Committee papers are made available one week ahead of meetings and draft minutes six weeks later. Inter-sessional papers, provided between Committee meetings, are also available. Meetings are run in accordance with a set of Standing Orders.


Meetings are held at Monkstone House, Peterborough. unless otherwise stated.


If you would like to attend, please phone on 01733 562626 or


Members of the Joint Nature Conservation Committee as at July 2016
Professor Chris Gilligan
Independent Chair (University of Cambridge)
Dr Hilary Kirkpatrick Chair, Council for Nature Conservation and the Countryside
Ms Diane McCrea Chair, Natural Resources Wales
Dr Madeleine Havard Deputy Chair, Natural Resources Wales
Mr Ian Ross Chair, Scottish Natural Heritage
Dr Susan Walker Deputy Chair, Scottish Natural Heritage
Dr Joe Horwood Natural England
Professor Howard Platt Deputy Chair, Council for Nature Conservation and the Countryside
Dr Bob Brown Independent
Mr Guy Duke Independent Deputy Chair

Professor Michel Kaiser

Independent (University of Wales, Bangor)
Professor Colin Galbraith
Professor Ian Bateman Independent (University of Exeter)