International interlocutors

Between April and October 2010, the Iraq Inquiry committee met the following foreign interlocutors:

The Iraq Inquiry Committee met the following US citizens:

Name:In relation to the following roles:
Mr John Bellinger III Senior Associate Counsel to the President and Legal Adviser to the National Security Council, 2001 to 2005
Mr Stuart Bowen Inspector General for the Coalition Provisional Authority from January, 2004

Special Inspector General for Iraq Reconstruction (SIGIR), June 2004 to date
Ambassador Paul Bremer Administrator of Iraq, 2003 to 2004
Professor Eliot Cohen Counselor to the US State Department 2007 to 2009
Ambassador Ryan Crocker United States Ambassador to Iraq, 2007 to 2009
Ms Ginger Cruz Deputy Inspector General for Iraq Reconstruction, 2004 to date
Mr Charles Duelfer Head of the Iraq Survey Group, 2004 to 2005
Dr David Kay Head of the Iraq Survey Group, 2003 to 2004
General (retired) David McKiernan Coalition Forces Land Component Commander, 2002 to 2003
The Hon. Franklin Miller KBE Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director, National Security Council staff, 2001 to 2005
Professor Andrew Natsios Administrator of the US Agency for International Development, 2001 to 2005
Professor Meghan O’Sullivan Political Advisor Coalition Provisional Authority 2003 to 2004

Special Assistant to the President and Deputy National Security Adviser for Iraq and Afghanistan, 2004 to 2007
General David Petraeus Commander Multi National Force – Iraq, 2007 to 2008
Walter Slocombe Senior Advisor and Director for Security Affairs (National Security and Defense) in the Coalition Provisional Authority, 2003
Mr William Taft IV State Department Legal Adviser, 2000 to 2004
Professor Philip Zelikow Counsellor to Secretary of State, 2005 to 2007

The Iraq Inquiry Committee met the following French citizens:

Name:In relation to the following roles:
General Henri Bentegeat Chief of the Military Staff to the President 1999 to 2002

Chief of the Defence Staff, 2002 to 2006
Gerard Errera French Ambassador to London 2002 to 2007
Jean-Luc Florent French United Nations Legal Advisor, 2002 to 2003
Maurice Gourdault-Montagne Senior Diplomatic Counsellor to the President 2002 to 2007

Currently the French Ambassador to the United Kingdom
Jean-David Levitte French Permanent Representative to the United Nations 2000 to 2002

French Ambassador to the United States, 2002 to 2007
Dominique de Villepin French Minister of Foreign Affairs, 2002 to 2004
Ambassador Pierre Vimont Chief of Staff to French Minister for Foreign Affairs, 2002 to 2007

Currently Ambassador of France to the United States

The Iraq Inquiry Committee met the following people in Iraq:

In Baghdad

Name:In relation to the following roles:
Labeed Abbawi Deputy Foreign Minister
Sheikh Ahmed Abu Risha Leader of the Anbar Salvation Council since September 2007
Dr Ayad Allawi Interim Prime Minister of Iraq (2004-2005). Member of Iraq Governing Council (2003 – 2004)
Ali Baban Minister of Planning
Ahmed Chalabi Leader of the Iraqi National Congress party, Former Head of the Higher National De-Baathification Commission, Deputy Prime Minister (May 2005-May 2006), former interim Oil Minister
Daniel Endres and Carolyn Ennis UNHCR
Ammar Al-Hakim Leader of ISCI
Jean-Michel Happi and David Bontempo World Bank
Tariq Al-Hashimi Vice President of Iraq since April 2006
Dr Ibrahim Al-Jaafari Prime Minister of Iraq 2005-06, Vice President of Iraq 2004-05, Member of the Iraqi Governing Council 2003-2004
Yonadim Kanna Head of the Assyrian Democratic Movement;
Member of the Iraqi Interim National Council;
Former Member of the Iraqi Governing Council
Huda Malik Director General Planning
Dr Mowaffaq Al-Rubaie Independent member of the Iraqi House of Representatives, Former member of the Iraqi Governing Council (2003-2004) & Iraqi National Security Advisor (2004-2009)
Ayad Al-Samarraei Speaker of the Council of Representatives since April 2009
Ville Varjola Acting EU Ambassador
Sharwan Al-Waely State Ministry for National Security Affairs
Canon Andrew White Anglican Vicar, St George’s Church, Baghdad since 2005, President of the Foundation for Relief and Reconciliation in the Middle East since 2005

In Basra

Name:In relation to the following roles:
Dr Haider Ali Chairman, Basra Investment Commission
Farouq al-Asadi and Ms Safia Abdel Fattah Rafha human rights/refugee NGO
Hassan al-Rashid Provincial Councillor and former Governor
Taha al-Tamimi Former political adviser to HMG
Mohammed al-Wa'ili Businessman and former Governor

In Erbil

Name:In relation to the following roles:
Professor Dlawer Ala’Adeen Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research, Kurdistan Regional Government
Msgr Jaques Isaac Chaldean Patriarchal Vicar for Cultural Affairs and Dean of the Babel College
Nawzad Hadi Mawlood Governor of Erbil
Dr Barham Saleh Prime Minister, Kurdistan Regional Government
Karim Sinjari Minister of the Interior, Kurdistan Regional Government

The Committee also had the opportunity to meet Hoshyar Zebari (the Iraqi Foreign Minister) whilst he was in London.

The Iraq Inquiry Committee met the following people in Jordan:

Name:In relation to the following roles:
Peter Batchelor Deputy Country Director UNDP Iraq
Christine McNab Deputy Special Representative of the Secretary General, Resident Co-ordinator, Humanitarian Co-ordinator United Nations Assistance Mission to Iraq, Resident Representative UNDP Iraq
Stephen Ray Head of OCHA Iraq
Imran Riza Representative UNHCR Jordan
Jobst von Kirchmann Head of Iraq Aid Programme, EU Delegation

The Iraq Inquiry has also met:

Name:In relation to the following roles:
Ambassador Kim Beazley Served in the Australian House of Representatives from 1980 to 2007

Leader of the Australian Labour Party and Leader of the Opposition, 2005 to 2006.

Currently Ambassador of Australia to the USA

The Committee also met officials from the World Bank, and took part in seminars at the John F Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University, and at the RAND Corporation.