Ministerial role

Lord President of the Council


Current role holder: The Rt Hon Chris Grayling MP

Chris Grayling was appointed Lord President of the Council and Leader of the House of Commons on 10 May 2015. He was elected Conservative MP for Epsom and Ewell in 2001.


Chris was educated at The Royal Grammar School, High Wycombe and Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge, where he studied history.


In May 2010 he was appointed Minister of State at the Department for Work and Pensions. He has also held a number of shadow front bench posts, including Shadow Home Secretary and Shadow Secretary of State for Transport.

Personal life

Chris lives in the constituency with his wife and their 2 children.

Previous holders of this role

  1. The Rt Hon Nick Clegg MP

    • 2010 to 2015