Skip to content
Sign up to our: Newsletter | Newsfeeds

New Cabinet announced by First Minister

The First Minister of Wales, Carwyn Jones, today announced a reshuffle of his cabinet. He said his new cabinet was ready to focus on the tough choices Wales needs to create world class public services, and to build on the recent improvements in the Welsh economy.
Thursday 11 September 2014

Leighton Andrews returns to Government as Minister for Public Services. Carl Sargeant is now the Minister for Natural Resources and Lesley Griffiths becomes the Minister for Communities & Tackling Poverty. Edwina Hart, Huw Lewis, Mark Drakeford retain their current responsibilities, with Jane Hutt adding Government Business to her Finance role. Janice Gregory continues as Chief Whip.

Established Deputy Ministers Ken Skates and Vaughan Gething will be given enhanced roles to cover Culture, Sport & Tourism and Health respectively.

The First Minister retains responsibility for the Welsh language, constitutional affairs and promoting Wales abroad.

First Minister, Carwyn Jones, said

"This is a cabinet equipped with the skills and experience to deliver the changes that Wales needs in the crucial months ahead. We promised this would be a term of delivery and I am proud of what we have achieved together in the last three years.  Unemployment is lower here than in England. We have seen our best ever inward investment figures, record exam results, and ground-breaking legislation. However, there is still a huge amount for us to do, especially in the delivery of our public services reform programme.

"I give my heartfelt thanks to John Griffiths, Jeff Cuthbert and Gwenda Thomas as they leave Government. I have valued their hard work, advice and loyalty and I look forward to their continued contribution to Welsh politics and public life. I welcome Julie James to her first role in Government, and welcome back Leighton Andrews to the cabinet."

Cabinet in full:

Rt Hon Carwyn Jones AM
First Minister of Wales

Edwina Hart AM OStJ MBE
Minister for Economy, Science and Transport

Prof Mark Drakeford AM
Minister for Health & Social Services

Huw Lewis AM
Minister for Education and Skills

Jane Hutt AM
Minister for Finance & Government Business

Leighton Andrews AM
Minister for Public Services

Lesley Griffiths AM
Minister for Communities & Tackling Poverty

Carl Sargeant AM
Minister for Natural Resources

Deputy Ministers

Vaughan Gething AM
Deputy Minister for Health

Ken Skates AM
Deputy Minister for Culture, Sport & Tourism

Rebecca Evans AM
Deputy Minister for Farming & Food

Julie James AM
Deputy Minister for Skills & Technology

Chief Whip

Janice Gregory AM



About social bookmarking



First Minister 11 September 2014 Mid Wales North Wales South East Wales South West Wales

News by date

April 2015
<< Mar    
    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30      
Follow us on