Skip to content

Regions (Former GORs)

Government Offices for the Regions were established across England in 1994.

Reflecting a number of government departments they aim to work in partnership with local people and organisations in order to maximise prosperity and the quality of life within their area.

In 1996 the regions covered, known as Government Office Regions, became the primary classification for the presentation of regional statistics.

At creation there were ten GORs but in 1998 Merseyside was merged with the rest of the North West.

GORs are built up of complete counties/unitary authorities so although they are subject to change they always reflect administrative boundaries as at the end of the previous year.

Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland are not subdivided into GORs but are listed with them as regions in UK-wide statistical comparisons.

After the Comprehensive Spending Review, it was confirmed that the GORs would close on 31 March 2011, shifting focus away from regions to local areas.

However, there is still a requirement to maintain a regional level geography for statistical purposes.

The GSS Regional and Geography Committee have agreed that from 1 April 2011, the former GORs should be simply referred to as ‘Regions’.

These areas will retain the names, codes and boundaries of the former GORs.

Regions (former GORs) (from April 2011)

E12000001 A North East
E12000002 B North West
E12000003 D Yorkshire and The Humber
E12000004 E East Midlands
E12000005 F West Midlands
E12000006 G East of England
E12000007 H London
E12000008 J South East
E12000009 K South West

The former Standard Statistical Regions (SSRs)

Standard Statistical Regions (SSRs) were the primary classification for English regional statistics prior to the adoption of GORs.

They are now rarely used, and are certainly no longer 'Standard'.

The eight SSRs are also based on whole administrative units, but do not have any administrative function.

Most SSRs have the same names and boundaries as the GORs, but there are the following differences:

  • the North SSR consists of the North East GOR together with Cumbria (which is part of the North West GOR)

  • London does not exist as an SSR in its own right; instead it is part of the South East SSR

  • the East of England GOR does not exist as an SSR. Norfolk, Suffolk, Cambridgeshire and Peterborough form the East Anglia SSR; the rest of the GOR is part of the South East SSR

  • the Yorkshire and The Humber GOR covers the same area as the Yorkshire and Humberside SSR.

Regions, GORs and SSRs use the names and codes listed below.

Note that between 1996 and 1999 there were several changes to the GOR list. 

The 2011 'Region' name and code listing includes the new nine character codes (operative from 1 January 2011).

For more information, please see the Code History Database.

GORs (Jan 1999-Mar 2011)  GORs (Aug 1998-Jan 1999) GORs (Apr 1996-Jul 1998) SSRs
A North East A North East A North East 1 North

B North West

B North West

B North West

2 Yorkshire and Humberside
D Yorkshire and The Humber D Yorkshire and The Humber C Merseyside 3 East Midlands
E East Midlands E East Midlands D Yorkshire and the Humber 4 East Anglia
F West Midlands F West Midlands E East Midlands 5 South East
G East of England G Eastern F West Midlands 6 South West
H London H London G Eastern 7 West Midlands
J South East J South East H London 8 North West
K South West K South West J South East
    K South West


Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.