On 22 January 2013, the Secretary of State wrote to Ofqual to outline changes to A level structure from September 2015.

The changes mean that the new A level will be linear, with all assessment at the end of two years of study. Although the AS level will be retained, it will be redesigned as a high quality stand-alone qualification as opposed to a means of progression to A2. 

The Secretary of State also confirmed plans for leading universities to be more closely involved in developing the content of the new A levels, starting with those subjects which are most commonly required for undergraduate study - maths and further maths; English (literature); physics; biology; chemistry; geography; history and languages (modern and classical).

The first of the new A levels will be introduced for teaching in schools from September 2015, with first exams being sat in 2017.

This latest announcement follows on from the one made by Ofqual on the 9 November 2012 about the end to January exams for A level students

Ofqual announced that from this September students will only be able to sit AS and A level exams in the summer. As the changes come into force from September 2013, there will be no January exams in 2014 for students whether they are in their first or second year of A level studies. Therefore, students who started a two-year course in September 2012 will not have the option of January exams in their second year.

The awarding organisations websites; AQA, Edexcel, OCR and WJEC have more detail on the changes.