Skip to content

Written - Welsh Assembly Government Cabinet

Related Links

Certain information on this site requires that you have the right software to view it. This page offers links to freely available viewers and readers.
Rhodri Morgan , First Minister

Following last week’s formal coalition between Labour and Plaid Cymru, I have made major changes across all portfolios with only my specific responsibilities remaining unchanged and Edwina Hart remaining as Minister for Health and Social Services.

And following Ieuan Wyn Jones appointment last week as Deputy First Minister, who is also now Minister for Economic Development and Transport,  the three other appointments from Plaid Cymru who will join the Cabinet working along side my Labour Ministers include Elin Jones who will be Minister for Rural Affairs, which was formerly part of the Sustainability and Rural development portfolio and Rhodri Glyn Thomas has been appointed Minister for the new Heritage portfolio which includes tourism, Cadw, arts, sports and the Welsh Language.  Jocelyn Davies has also been appointed as Deputy Minister with responsibility for Housing.  Carl Sargeant remains as Chief Whip and will continue to attend meetings of the Cabinet.

The new Cabinet line-up is:

First Minister
Rhodri Morgan

Deputy First Minister and Minister for The Economy and Transport
Ieuan Wyn Jones

Minister for Finance and Public Service Delivery
Andrew Davies

Minister for Social Justice and Local Government
Brian Gibbons

Minister for Education, Children, Lifelong Learning & Skills
Jane Hutt

Minister for Rural Affairs
Elin Jones

Minister for Health and Social Services
Edwina Hart

Minister for The Environment, Sustainability and Housing
Jane Davidson

Minister for Heritage
Rhodri Glyn Thomas

Counsel General and Leader of the House
Carwyn Jones

Deputy Ministers are as follows:

Social Services   Gwenda Thomas
Housing Jocelyn Davies
Skills John Griffiths
Regeneration Leighton Andrews

I believe that this new Cabinet marks the start of a new era of strength in partnership with an experienced and talented team of Ministers able to meet the challenge of making our nation a better place to live and work.  Our ‘One Wales’ document is the blueprint for our next four years in Government and both I and the Deputy First Minister are confident that the new Cabinet has the passion and commitment to deliver the fair, prosperous, confident and outgoing Wales our citizens deserve and demand.