World location

UK and the British Antarctic Territory

Our mission

We work to preserve the environmental and historical heritage of the Antarctic region. We work with a range of stakeholders to educate people about the Antarctic and support British scientific research.



Our announcements

Our publications


British Antarctic Territory

The British Antarctic Territory (BAT) is a UK Overseas Territory and is administered in London by staff in the Polar Regions Department of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office. The Government of the Territory has its own legislative framework and makes a range of legal and administrative appointments.

See full profile and all contact details

Polar Regions Department

Overseas Territories Directorate
Room WH 2.308
King Charles Street


Access and opening times

Help us improve GOV.UK

Please don't include any personal or financial information, for example your National Insurance or credit card numbers.