The government works to defend the UK against threats to our national security, and to defend the interests of the UK and our allies in the world.

Policies 16

  1. Maintaining an effective, independent nuclear deterrent

    The UK will maintain its strategic nuclear deterrent.

  2. Supporting the Falkland Islanders’ right to self-determination

    Maintaining the security and sovereignty of the Falkland Islanders.

  3. Promoting stability throughout the Western Balkans

    Securing peace and creating the conditions for EU membership in the Western Balkans

  4. Working towards nuclear disarmament

    The UK is committed to the long-term goal of a world without nuclear weapons and zero tolerance of proliferation.

  5. Controlling defence, security and dual-use strategic exports

    Regulating exports of military and dual-use equipment and technology to help ensure global security.

See all 16 policies

Detailed guides

  1. Intra-Community Transfer Directive 2009/43/EC

    EU legislation implemented in the Export Control Order 2008 concerning the transfer or export of military goods across the EU Read more

  2. Military Aviation Authority

    The Military Aviation Authority (MAA) works to improve military air safety, regulation and practice. Read more

  3. Acquisition Safety and Environment Group

    ASEG supports the DE&S safety and environmental management boards through policy, instruction, process and assurance. Read more

  4. Ministry of Defence Commercial

    Provides strategic leadership across the full range of Ministry of Defence (MOD) acquisition, procurement and commercial activities. Read more

  5. Service Prosecuting Authority

    Reviews cases referred by the Service Police and Chain of Command and prosecutes cases at Court Martial or Service Civilian Court. Read more

Help us improve GOV.UK

Please don't include any personal or financial information, for example your National Insurance or credit card numbers.