The HEFCE Board

Click on each Board member's name to see a biography and list of registered interests.


Tim Melville-Ross

Chief Executive

Sir Alan Langlands


Professor Madeleine Atkins CBE Vice-Chancellor, Coventry University
Rob Douglas Business Advisor, Douglas Associates Ltd.
Professor Anne Greenough Head of King's College London, School of Medicine
Professor Ruth Farwell Vice-Chancellor, Buckinghamshire New University
Professor Malcolm Grant President and Provost, University College London
René Olivieri Former Chief Executive, Blackwell Publishing
Professor Shirley Pearce Former Vice-Chancellor, Loughborough University
Mark Robson Head of Monetary and Financial Statistics, Bank of England
Hugh Ross Director of the Hehir-Ross Partnership
Anil Ruia Director of Wrengate Ltd; Chair, University of Manchester
Dr Suzy Walton Deputy Chairman of the Royal Society for the Encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce (RSA), the University of Westminster and the Internet Watch Foundation
Sara Weller Non Executive Director, Lloyds Bank, United Utilities
John Widdowson CBE Principal, New College, Durham


Professor Sir John O’Reilly Director General, Knowledge and Innovation, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills


Mark Batho Chief Executive, Scottish Funding Council
Liam Burns National President, National Union of Students
Nuala Kerr Department for Employment and Learning, Northern Ireland
Dr David Blaney  Chief Executive, Higher Education Funding Council for Wales
James Henry Training and Development Agency for Schools

Clerk to the Board

Louisa Baker

Further information

For further information contact Louisa Baker, e-mail, tel 0117 931 7106.

Page last updated 15 May 2013

Share this: