Beckenham Beacon

Telephone: 01689 866667
Address: 379 Croydon Road, Beckenham, Kent, BR3 3QL
Website: http://www.slh.nhs.uk

4.5 out of 5 stars

Based on 32 ratings for this clinic

Reviews and ratings

4.5 Stars

4.5 out of 5 stars

NHS Choices users' overall rating
Based on 32 ratings for this clinic

4 out of 5 stars

30 ratings

4.5 out of 5 stars

25 ratings

4.5 out of 5 stars

29 ratings

4.5 out of 5 stars

27 ratings

4 out of 5 stars

10 ratings

Reviews

48 total

Shirley reviewed Beckenham Beacon

The Brilliant Beckenham Beacon

This place is fantastic - I should say that the people who work there are fantastic! I arrived with a damaged hand. Two friendly and efficient professionals (a medic and a lovely lady who was a plaster expert) examined me, advised me, arranged for an x-ray and had me plastered and ready to leave within a half hour. They were the most caring staff you could find. They also insisted that they rang my daughter (I wanted to keep things quiet!) and that I told a neighbour what had happened. Wall to wall care and attention from 100% dedicated people. I can never thank them enough.

Visited in March 2013. Posted on 19 March 2013

Report as unsuitable

Beckenham Beacon has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Beckenham Beacon a rating of 5 stars

Very professional staff

I have visited Beckenham Beacon urgent care centre a couple of times. With my partner for a wrist fracture and for myself with illness. We were seen with the hour and the staff were very professional and caring. The assessment and advice received was very thorough. This service is a great asset to Beckenham.

Visited in March 2013. Posted on 14 March 2013

Report as unsuitable

Beckenham Beacon has not yet replied.

bluesocks gave Beckenham Beacon a rating of 5 stars

Fast and very helpful response

Visited the Urgent Care Clinic today and am very impressed by the organisation and helpfulness of the hospital staff. I left feeling that they had understood and offerred me thorough treatment and advice.

Visited in March 2013. Posted on 06 March 2013

Report as unsuitable

Beckenham Beacon has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Beckenham Beacon a rating of 1 stars

Unacceptable waiting times

First go last month to get my bloods taken - told there was at least a two hour wait because of staff shortages - could not park so parked a few streets away. Eventually gave up waiting as I had get back to work.

Second try this week - after 20 minutes got parking on site - told that due to sickness at least a two hour wait again. Took my ticket and went shopping. Returned - chaotic parking so had to go up Cedar Road (which was practically empty). Told that there was possibly a further 2 hour wait as there was still 59 patients before me. Waited for a while then could not cope with the cattle market crowds - some did not have a place to sit. Others said they had been there since 8 in the morning. Went back to my car and found a parking ticket on it. So £55 pounds worse off and still no blood taken!

Suggest reviewing phlebotomy service - more staff - opening an extra day although I think blood should be taken on a one stop visit when ordered by the GP as the NHS is supposed to be for the convenience of the patient and not the staff - appreciate this is a long term view.

Visited in February 2013. Posted on 07 February 2013

Report as unsuitable

Beckenham Beacon has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Beckenham Beacon a rating of 5 stars

Excellent local service

Went to this unit with a cut that wouldn't stop bleeding, The nurse I saw was friendly, professional, thorough and reassuring. I was very happy with the treatment I had and the nurse gave good advice on aftercare. I thought the waiting time was reasonable, given that it was Saturday evening and, of course, the staff have no control over numbers.

This is a great service for Beckenham residents. I really appreciated being able to use a local service rather than trekking out to the Princess Royal. This local access was really important to me as I don't have a car.

Thanks so much!

Visited in February 2013. Posted on 03 February 2013

Report as unsuitable

Beckenham Beacon has not yet replied.

Anonymous gave Beckenham Beacon a rating of 5 stars

Excellent facility

I accompanied my husband who had sprained his ankle badly. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The environment is new and very clean. I would recommend the hospital to all my friends and family

Visited in December 2012. Posted on 20 March 2013

Report as unsuitable

Beckenham Beacon has not yet replied.

Lyn Blake recommended Urgent Care Centre - Beckenham at Beckenham Beacon

Reasonable waiting time, good reception and efficient nursing staff- thank you.

Visited in December 2012. Posted on 15 December 2012

Report as unsuitable

Beckenham Beacon has not yet replied.

Richard Lovejoy recommended Urgent Care Centre - Beckenham at Beckenham Beacon

A perfect example of NHS excellence.

What I liked

Notwithstanding it was a Monday morning the waiting time was minimal, the Reception staff were, as I have experienced previously, welcoming, friendly and helpful. As with my previous visit the doctor was again very charming, approachable and informative.

On my experiences to date this has to be the NHS at its very best and the ideal of what we would all like nationally.

Visited in December 2012. Posted on 03 December 2012

Report as unsuitable

Beckenham Beacon has not yet replied.

Anonymous reviewed Beckenham Beacon

Good Service

Several friends and family members have used the Beacon in the last two years and have been impressed with the staff, cleanliness and service, particularly of the minor injuries department.

Visited in November 2012. Posted on 08 March 2013

Report as unsuitable

Beckenham Beacon has not yet replied.

mrdgriff gave Beckenham Beacon a rating of 1 stars

Missing blood test results

I have spent six months and two visits to the blood testing unit at Beckenham Beacon and on each occasion the GP Surgery has apparently not been notified of the results. This means I will have to return to have blood taken for a third time.

Visited in November 2012. Posted on 06 March 2013

Report as unsuitable

Beckenham Beacon has not yet replied.