Glossary of terms

A&E –  accident and emergency
ALBs – arms length bodies
CCGs – clinical commissioning groups
CCRA – Climate Change Risk Assessment
CHRE – Council for Healthcare Regulatory Excellence
COPD – chronic pulmonary disease
CQC – Care Quality Commission
CVD – cancer, cardiovascular disease
DH – Department of Health
EEA – European Economic Area
ENDPB – English non-departmental public body
EU – European Union
FTs – foundation trusts
GP – General practitioner
Health and SC IC – Health and Social Care Information Centre
HEE – Health Education England
HPA – Health Protection Agency
HR – human resources
HRA – Health Research Authority Board
ICT – information and communications technology
IT – information technology
L&D – learning and development
LA – Local Authority
MEE – Medical Education England
N3 – Network Security refresh programme
NAP – National Adaption Programme
NDPB – Non-Departmental Public Body
NED – Non-Executive Directors
NHS – National Health Service
NHS 111 – new English medical helpline
NHS CB – NHS Commissioning Board
NHSi - NHS Institute for Innovation and Improvement
NICE – National Institute for Clinical Excellence
NIHR – National Institute for Health Research
NPSA – National Patient Safety Agency
NQB – National Quality Board
NTA – National Treatment Agency
NTDA – NHS Trust Development Authority
PA framework – Personal assistants framework
PBR – payment by results
PCTs – Primary Care Trusts
PFI – Private Finance Initiative
PH – Public Health
PTP – People Transition Policies
QIPP – Quality, Innovation, Productivity and Prevention
SCS – senior civil servant
SHAs – Strategic Health Authorities
SpHA – special health authority
VSM – Very Senior Manager
VTE – venous thromboembolism

Comments are closed.