This handbook sets out the legal requirements of the national curriculum in England for pupils aged 11 to 16 and provides information to help teachers implement it in their schools. It begins by explaining the importance of the changes that were made in 2004, their impact on secondary education and the general teaching standards required to implement them.

The document then provides detailed subject-by-subject instructions on changes which have been made to the existing national curriculum KS3 and KS4 subjects. The handbook also includes guidelines for those new subjects which have been introduced as compulsory.


  • Values, aims and purposes of the school curriculum and the national curriculum
  • About Key Stages 3 and 4
  • General teaching requirements
  • KS3 programmes of study
  • KS3 guidelines
  • KS4 programmes of study
  • KS4 guidelines
  • Statement of values by the National forum for values in education and the community
  • The National Curriculum attainment targets