Our organisation

The Home Office is headed by the Home Secretary and five other ministers. In this section you can find out how our organisation is structured and read biographies of our ministers.

Agencies and public bodies also form part of the Home Office organisation.

The heads of the organisation

  • the Home Secretary is head of the Home Office and is responsible for all of our work
  • the Permanent Secretary is the senior civil servant who ensures the organisation achieves the goals set by the Home Secretary

Read biographies of our ministers.

Home Office

The Home Office includes:

  • the office for security and counter-terrorism, which works with other departments and agencies to ensure an effective and coordinated response to the threat of terrorism
  • the crime and policing group, which works with the police service and other partners to reduce crime and protect the public
  • the Border Force, which is a Home Office operational command responsible for immigration and customs in the UK, including controls in France and Belgium

Our agencies and public bodies

Three agencies - the UK Border Agency, the Identity and Passport Service and the Criminal Records Bureau - provide directly managed frontline services from within the Home Office.

There are also a number of independent services and public bodies.

Find out more about our agencies and public bodies.

Share |