The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a comprehensive framework which sets the standards for learning, development and care of children from birth to 5.

The EYFS builds on and will replace the existing statutory Curriculum Guidance for the Foundation Stage, the non-statutory Birth to Three Matters framework, and the regulatory frameworks in the National Standards for Under 8s Day Care and Childminding.

All registered early years providers and schools will be required to use the EYFS from September 2008.

This pack replaces 00012-2007PCK-EN.


  • Statutory Framework
  • Practice Guidance
  • EYFS wall poster
  • Principles into Practice cards