Advisory Committee on Cervical Screening (ACCS)

Terms of reference

The terms of reference of the ACCS are to advise on the development of a cervical cancer screening service, to monitor its effectiveness and its efficiency and to advise on research concerned with the provision of the service. The ACCS meets twice a year to discuss cervical screening and provides advice to Ministers.


  • Professor Henry Kitchener, Chair (Gynaecologist, Manchester)
  • Ms Frankie Brown (RCN)
  • Dr Laurence Brown (RCPath, Leicester)
  • Mr Geoff Curran (Institute of Biomedical Science, Royal London Hospital)
  • Dr Karin Denton (RCPath, Bristol)
  • Ms Kay Ellis (National Association of Cytologists, Sheffield)
  • Dr Shaun Firth (GPC, Essex)
  • Maggie Middleton (Institute of Biomedical Science, St Thomas’ Hospital)
  • Mrs Moria Morris (lay person, Bromsgrove)
  • Dr Catti Moss (RCGP, Northants)
  • Professor Sue Moss (Wolfson Institute for Preventive Medicine)
  • Robert Music (Director, Jo’s Trust)
  • Professor Amanda J Ramirez (Institute of Psychiatry)
  • Professor Peter Sasieni (Biostatistician and Epidemiologist, Barts and the London School of Medicine)
  • Mr Mahmood Shafi (RCOG, Cambridge)
  • Dr Christopher Sonnex (RCPhys, Cambridge)
  • Ms Susan Vryenhoef (National Association of Cytologists, Nottingham)
  • Dr Jane Woyka (RCGP, Middlesex)


Tim Elliott/Stephen Atkinson
ACCS Secretariat
Department of Health, Room 411
Wellington House, 135-155 Waterloo Road
London SE1 8UG
Telephone: 020 7972 1312

Comments are closed.