Arm’s length bodies

The Department of Health works with various arm’s length bodies (ALBs). There are three kinds of ALBs:

Executive agencies

These have responsibility for particular business areas, but are still part of, and accountable to, the Department.

Executive non-departmental public bodies

The ENDPBs have a role in the process of national government, but are not part of any government department.

Special health authorities

These are independent bodies, but can be subject to ministerial direction like other NHS bodies.

Contact the arm’s length bodies support unit.

There will be further changes to the department’s ALBs from April 2013 including the establishment of Public Health England as an executive agency.

Comments are closed.