Chief Professional Officers

The Department currently has six chief professional officers. Chief professional officers are leaders in their professions and provide the Department with expert knowledge about health and social care disciplines. They advise Department of Health ministers, other Government departments and the Prime Minister.

Professor Dame Sally Davies, Chief Medical Officer (CMO), is the UK Government’s principal medical adviser.

Viv Bennett, Director of Nursing, is the Government’s principal adviser on public health nursing and midwifery.

Barry Cockcroft CBE, Chief Dental Officer (CDO), is the Government’s principal dental adviser and the professional head of dental staff in England.

Karen Middleton, Chief Health Professions Officer (CHPO), and her team work with a network of professionals who advise on specific issues affecting the allied health professionals (AHPs) and their practice.

Dr Keith Ridge, Chief Pharmaceutical Officer is the professional lead within the Department of Health on implementation of the Government’s Pharmacy in the Future programme.

Professor Sue Hill OBE, Chief Scientific Officer (CSO), is the Department’s most senior healthcare scientist and leads the 50,000 strong scientific workforce in the NHS and related organisations.

Comments are closed.