Standing Commission on Carers

The Standing Commission on Carers is an independent advisory body providing expert advice to ministers and the Carers Strategy Cross Government Board on progress in delivering the national Carers Strategy.

Terms of reference

The Standing Commission was established in December 2007. Its terms of reference can be found at:


Meetings are held quarterly.

News and publications


  • Dame Philippa Russell DBE (Chair) Disability Policy Adviser to the National Children’s Bureau
  • Don Brereton CB (Deputy Chair) Chair of the Board of Trustees of Carers UK
  • Anne Smyth (Deputy Chair) Founder and Director of the Carers’ Resource, North & West Yorkshire

Appointed Members

  • Gary Ames
    (Non- Executive Director, NHS Luton and NHS Bedfordshire)
  • Penny Banks
    (Former Head of Information and Reporting, Commission for Social Care Inspection)
  • Professor Barry Carpenter OBE
    (Honorary Professor at University of Worcester and Director of Centre for Special Education, Westminster College, Oxford) (Until September 2012)
  • Alex Fox
    (CEO of Shared Lives) (Until September 2012)
  • Jenny Frank MBE
    (Programme Manager, Children’s Society)
  • Paul Jenkins OBE
    (Chief Executive of Rethink)
  • Robina Mallett
    (Runs the Home family trust’s national family carer support service and is an advisor to the National Family Carer Support Network)
  • Rosemary Matthews
    (Employability Coordinator, University of Essex) (Until September 2012)
  • Dr Helena McKeown
    (GP in Salisbury and council member of the Royal College of GPs and the BMA)
  • Dr Alison Milne
    (Reader in Social Gerontology and Social Work, University of Kent)
  • Rajay Naik
    (Director of Government & External Affairs, the Open University and Former Chairman, British Youth Council) (Until September 2012)
  • Dawn O’Rooke
    (Director, Princess Royal Trust Salford Carers’ Centre)
  • Christine Osborne
    (Former Policy Adviser, the Children’s Society)
  • Jill Pay
    (Carers’ Training Coordinator, Camden Carers’ Centre)
  • Barbara Pointon MBE
    (Former Head of Music, Homerton College, Cambridge and ambassador for the Alzheimer’s Society and Dementia UK)
  • Anne Roberts
    (Chief Executive of Carers Trust until September 2012)
  • Professor Nigel Sparrow
    (Chair of Professional Development Board at Royal College of GPs and visiting professor of general practice, University of Lincoln)
  • Katie Tempest
    (former Regional Director, West Midlands Commission Social Care Inspection)

Co-opted Members

  • Sola Afuape (Chair, The Afiya Trust and former Head of Transformation, Whipps Cross University Hospital) (Until February 2013)
  • Joe Blott (Executive Director, Neighbourhood and Community Services Directorate, Warrington Borough Council and Carers Policy Lead, ADSS)
  • Nick Gradwell (formerly with the Equality and Human Rights Commission and adviser to the Human Rights in Health Programme) (Until July 2012)
  • Philip Lewer (former Deputy Regional Director of Social Care, Yorkshire and Humberside region and member of the NHS Family and Local Authority, Leeds) (Until September 2012)
  • Michelle Mitchell (Charity Director, General at Age. UK)
  • Jo Webber (Deputy Policy Director and Director of the Ambulance Service Network)

Contact us

Standing Commission on Carers Secretariat
Department of Health
Area 313B, Richmond House,
79 Whitehall


Comments are closed.