Expert Advisory Group on AIDS

Terms of reference

The Expert Advisory Group on AIDS (EAGA) is a Departmental Expert Committee.

First established in 1985, it has the following terms of reference: “To provide advice on such matters relating to HIV/AIDS as may be referred to it by the Chief Medical Officers of the Health Departments of the United Kingdom”.


Read the Expert Advisory Group on AIDS minutes.

News and publications


  • Professor Brian Gazzard (Chair)
    Professor of HIV Medicine/Director of Clinical Research, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London
  • Dr Christopher Conlon
    Consultant in Infectious Diseases, John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford
  • Mr David Crundwell
    Communications Consultant (Lay representative), London
  • Dr Matthew Donati
    Consultant Medical Virologist, Health Protection Agency, Bristol Public Health Laboratory
  • Ms Ceri Evans
    Senior Sexual Health Adviser, West London Centre for Sexual Health, Charing Cross Hospital
  • Dr John Green
    Chief Clinical Psychologist, Central & North West London NHS Foundation Trust and St Mary’s Hospital, London
  • Ms Ruth Lowbury
    Chief Executive, Medical Foundation for AIDS and Sexual Health (MedFASH),  London
  • Dr Helen McIlveen
    Clinical Manager Sexual Health and HIV, Northumbria Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
  • Ms Beatrice Osoro
    Case Worker, Positively UK, London
  • Professor Deenan Pillay
    Professor of Virology, University College London
  • Dr Anton Pozniak
    Consultant Physician in HIV/GUM, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London
  • Dr Keith Radcliffe
    Consultant in Genitourinary Medicine and HIV, University Hospitals Birmingham Foundation NHS Trust
  • Miss Susan Sellers
    Consultant Obstetrician, St Michael’s Hospital, Bristol
  • Dr Ewen Stewart
    General Practitioner, Edinburgh

Contact us

EAGA Secretariat
HIV/STI Department
Health Protection Agency
61 Colindale Avenue


Comments are closed.