Membership of the Steering Group

This page provides details of the members of the steering group, for the Review of the public sector equality Duty, announced on 15 May 2012.

Rob Hayward OBE (Chair)

Rob Hayward OBE is a former MP for Kingswood/Bristol. Rob received an OBE for setting up and running the Gulf Support Group for civilian hostages during the Iraqi invasion of Kuwait in 1990. He remains the only serving MR to receive a civilian honour other than for political services. Rob served as Board member of Stonewall for eight years (Financial Chairman for five years) and founder Chairman of the world's first gay rugby club - Kings Cross Steelers RFC. Rob is currently trustee of Central YMCA, Board member of Dignity in Dying, adviser to the Board of the Terence Higgins Trust and an elections analyst.

Councillor Mark Loveday

Mark Loveday is a barrister specialising in property law. A former White House staffer, he has served as a Conservative Councillor for Hammersmith & Fulham since 2002. As well as being Chief Whip, Mark is a cabinet member for strategy - a role that covers the development and monitoring of the Local Authority's policies and procedures with regard to services and ensuring compliance with all relevant UK and EU legislation.

Councillor Barbara Janke

Barbara stood down after seven years as Leader of Bristol City Council in May 2012. A former teacher of modern languages and economics, she moved from Kingston upon Thames to Bristol in the 1990s and was elected a Liberal Democrat councillor in the city in 1995. Barbara continues to represent Clifton ward.

Councillor Ed Lord OBE

Ed Lord OBE is Chairman of Local Partnerships LLP and an ex-officio member of the Executive and Improvement Board of the Local Government Association (LGA). He has been an elected member of the City of London of Common Council since February 2001. He is now Chairman of the City's Licensing Committee and member of the Policy and Resources Committee. In February 2011, he was appointed chairman of the Capital Ambition, the Regional Improvement and Efficiency Partnership for London. He was awarded an OBE for public service in June 2011. He is LGA's lead member for equalities.

Charlie Pate

Charlie is Deputy Director for Home Legal and Communities, leading the HM Treasury team responsible for the oversight of Home Office, Ministry of Justice and Law Officer departments' spending and equalities work. Charlie has recently returned to the Treasury from the Department for Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS), where he worked for three years as Head of Finance and LOCOG relations for the Government Olympic Executive. He previously worked in Treasury teams leading on areas including: London and major transport projects, the London Olympics and Paralympics, local government strategy and pension policy.

Stephen Otter QPM

Stephen Otter is HM Inspector of Constabulary for the National Team. Stephen is responsible for inspecting a range of policing organisations including the Metropolitan Police Service, City of London police, the Serious and Organised Crime Agency, British Transport Police and the police service of Northern Ireland - with responsibility for counter terrorism and serious and organised crime. He was Chief Constable of Devon and Cornwall between 2007 and 2012, and has also served with Avon and Somerset constabulary, Thames Valley police, Royal Hong Kong police and the Metropolitan Police Service. Stephen was the Association of Chief Police Officers (ACPO) national business area lead for Equality Diversity and Human Rights from 2008 until 2012.

Rachel de Souza

The chief executive of the new East Norfolk Academies Trust and executive principal of Victory Academy. She has transformed Victory Academy near Norwich into one of England's most improved schools, as well as being involved with the Sir Isaac Newton Free School. A believer in respect and traditional values, she has improved behavious and attendance levels, supporting the higher grades. With a lengthy track record in equality and diversity work, Ms de Souza has developed robust policies in her academies to ensure access and equality for all students and staff.

Paula Vasco-Knight

Representative for the NHS Commissioning Board Steering Group. Paula is the chief executive of South Devon Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust, a practising nurse and a senior manager at the NHS Commissioning Board (National Equality Lead), so she can bring both a national policy perspective and a frontline service delivery perspective to the Review.

Dr. Munira Mirza

Dr. Munira Mirza is London's Deputy Mayor for Culture and Education. She has worked for a range of cultural and charitable organisations, including the Royal Society of Arts, Policy Exchange and Tate and has a background in journalism and policy research. Munira has written extensively on multiculturalism and is a member of Arts Council England, London Regional Council, the Royal College of Music Council and the Boards of the Institute of Contemporary Art and the Cultural Olympiad.

Jonathan Rees

Jonathan is the Director General of the Government Equalities Office (GEO), taking up this post in February 2008. Prior to joining GEO, Jonathan was Deputy Chief Executive (Policy) at the Health and Safety Executive following a varied career in the civil service with several jobs in (the then) Department for Trade and Industry, most recently as Director of Consumer and Competition Policy. He spent three years working in the Prime Minister's Policy Unit - working alongside John Major and Tony Blair. He also spent three years in the Cabinet Office and six years in Brussels - first with the European Commission and then the Foreign and Commonwealth Office, negotiating on EU single market policy. Jonathan is also a trustee of Citizens Advice.

Baroness O'Neill  

Baroness O'Neill is the Chair of the Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC). She is a cross-bench peer in the House of Lords and was a former Principal of Newnham Colleage, Cambridge.

She holds the title of Honorary Professor of Philosophy, Emeritus, University of Cambridge, has written extensively on equality and freedom throughout her academic career and is highly regarded as a specialist on human rights. She was also the former Chair of the Nuffield Foundation and was President of the British Academy from 2005 to 2009.

Share |