Access Keys:

Research Councils UK logo Excellence with Impact


RCUK doctoral stipend levels and indicative fees for 2013

19 December 2012

Research Councils UK (RCUK) has announced doctoral stipend levels and indicative fees for 2013.

  • National Minimum Doctoral Stipend for 2013/14 is £13,726
  • Research Councils UK Indicative Fee Level for 2013/14 is £3,900

In recent years, increases to the RCUK minimum doctoral stipend have been based on the GDP deflator and this remains the start-point for determining minimum stipend levels. However, in line with the Government plans for public sector pay awards to average 1%, the Research Councils have agreed the national minimum doctoral stipend for 2013/14 is £13,726.

For planning purposes, research organisations might wish to note that an average of one per cent increase to public sector pay is expected next year as well as this.

The indicative fee level for 2013/14 will increase in line with the GDP deflator and this gives £3,900.

For planning purposes, research organisations should note that whilst the GDP deflator remains the basis for determining indicative fee levels, it will remain under review.

- ends -

Further information

Katie Clark
Press and Communications Manager
Tel: 01793 444592 or email: Katie Clark

Notes to editors

Research Councils UK (RCUK) is the strategic partnership of the UK's seven Research Councils who annually invest around £3 billion in research. We support excellent research, as judged by peer review, that has an impact on the growth, prosperity and wellbeing of the UK. To maintain the UK’s global research position we offer a diverse range of funding opportunities, foster international collaborations and provide access to the best facilities and infrastructure around the world. We also support the training and career development of researchers and work with them to inspire young people and engage the wider public with research. To maximise the impact of research on economic growth and societal wellbeing we work in partnership with other research funders including the Technology Strategy Board, the UK Higher Education funding bodies, business, government, and charitable organisations.

The seven UK Research Councils are:

  • Arts & Humanities Research Council (AHRC);
  • Biotechnology & Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC);
  • Economic & Social Research Council (ESRC);
  • Engineering & Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC);
  • Medical Research Council (MRC);
  • Natural Environment Research Council (NERC);
  • Science & Technology Facilities Council (STFC).