Queen honours Technology Strategy Board members

18 Jun 2008

Chairman Graham Spittle receives CBE; Business Continuity Manager Ray Browne receives OBE

Two members of the Technology Strategy Board have been recognised for their outstanding services to industry in this year's Birthday Honours List.  The Board's Chairman, Graham Spittle, received a CBE and its Business Continuity Manager, Ray Browne, received an OBE.

Dr Graham Spittle was Chairman of the advisory Technology Strategy Board from 2004 and continued in the position when the organisation was established as an executive non-departmental public body in July 2007.  He has been VP Software for UK, Ireland and South Africa with IBM since early 2007 and was previously Vice President, World Wide Integration Development and Director of the IBM Hursley Laboratory. He joined IBM in 1985.

Ray Browne is Business Continuity Manager for the Technology Strategy Board and Deputy Director (Innovation) at the Department for Innovation, Universities and Skills.  He began his career as an apprentice in 1960 at the National Physical Laboratory and then held a number of positions at the Department for Trade and Industry (DTI) from 1982.  He was instrumental in the launch of the DTI Technology Programme in 2004 and joined the Technology Strategy Board as Business Continuity Manager when it took over responsibility for the programme in July 2007

Commenting on the awards today, the Technology Strategy Board's Chief Executive, Iain Gray said:  "I am delighted that Graham and Ray's outstanding service has been recognised and would like to congratulate both of them on these well-deserved awards.  Both have had distinguished careers and have been instrumental in setting up the current Technology Strategy Board, which is building on a strong foundation of successful programmes and developing the ambition and vision to make the UK a global leader in innovation."

This video requires flash version 7 or higher to play.

Last updated on Wednesday 18 June 2008 at 14:42

More like this

Copyright © 2013