Advanced search

UK in Mongolia

London 05:15, 15 Dec 2012
Ulaanbaatar 13:15, 15 Dec 2012
Last updated at 3:14 (UK time) 17 May 2012

Embassy history

Britain was the first Western country to recognise an independent Mongolia when diplomatic relations were established in January 1963 with appointment of the British Chargé d’Affaires in Peking, Mr Terence Garvey, to Ulaanbaatar as non-resident Ambassador.  In 1964 Mr (later Sir) Reginald Hibbert became resident Charge d’Affaires in Ulaanbaatar.  He was succeeded by Mr Heath Mason, who was appointed as the first resident British Ambassador in 1966.  In 1968 Embassy, moved to a new building on Peace Avenue where it is still located today.

Recent Visits and Events


20-25 May             All Party Parliamentary Group Visit led by 
                               Andrew Rosindell MP and Lord Waverley.

29-31 May             Visit to Mongolia of Mr Jeremy Browne MP,
                                Minister for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs

9-11 October         Visit of Mr James Sharp, Asia Pacific Regional 
                                Director, UK Border Agency

25-29 November   Visit to Mongolia of Mr Charles Davies, Deputy 
                                Head of East Asia and Pacific Department in 
                                the Foreign and Commonwealth Office



14-18 April            His Royal Highness Prince Michael of Kent 
                               visited Mongolia