The aim of this document is to summarise the key elements of the European Baccalaureate, mainly to assist admissions officers at universities and other institutions of higher education in the United Kingdom. It will however also be of interest to parents and potential employers, and is issued by the DCSF, replacing the document produced in 2003.

The European Baccalaureate (EB) is the school-leaving examination for students who attend one of the 14 European Schools. There are currently around 21,000 pupils in the system as a whole, and approximately 1400 pupils take the final examination each year.

The European Schools were established to educate the children of parents working in European Union institutions. A broad curriculum is followed throughout the secondary phase, with a particular feature being the fact that students learn history and geography in their second language from Year 3 (Year 9 in the English system). Although the schools are open to the whole ability range, children must pass each year, meeting clear academic criteria. If not they must repeat the year, and ultimately leave the school if they fail the same year twice.

Holders of the European Baccalaureate have the same rights as nationals with equivalent qualifications to seek admission to UK universities and institutions of higher education.

Visit the DCSF website


  • The European Baccalaureate – An Overview
  • The Schools
  • The Pupils
  • The Curriculum
  • Assessment
  • Examination Results
  • Performance in Higher Education
  • English Language in the European Baccalaureate
  • UCAS Application Form and Offers
  • Appendices