Number 10 Downing Street

The official site of the British Prime Minister's Office

The Cabinet

Cabinet. Crown CopyrightThe Cabinet is the committee at the centre of the British political system and is the supreme decision-making body in government.

Every Tuesday during Parliament, Secretaries of State from all departments and some other ministers meet in the Cabinet room in Downing Street to discuss the big issues of the day. Meetings are currently attended by 22 paid ministers and one unpaid minister appointed to Cabinet, and six other invited ministers and peers.

Government Cabinets have met in the same room since 1856, when it was called the Council Chamber.

The Prime Minister chairs the meetings, selects its members, and also recommends their appointment as ministers by the Monarch. The Secretary of the Cabinet is responsible for preparing records of its discussions and decisions.

Cabinet attendees:

Read more: Further information on how Government works (Cabinet Office website)