Types of Marine Protected Areas

The type of Marine Protected Area (MPA)  will depend upon  the legislative measure which has been set up to provide protection to particular marine species and habitats. In the UK sites may be protected as part of European or national legislation.
The different types of MPAs in the UK include:
  • European marine sites – Special Areas of Conservation (SAC) and Special Protection Areas (SPA)
  • Sites of Special Scientific Interest (SSSIs) and Areas of Special Scientific Interest (ASSIs)
  • Ramsar sites
  • Marine Conservation Zones
  • Scottish MPAs
  • Northern Irish MPAs  

Further information on the types of MPAs