National Clinical Directors

National clinical directors represent the NHS in the Department of Health. They are experts – sometimes referred to as Tsars – who oversee the implementation of a National Service Framework (NSF).

A national clinical director’s role is to spearhead change. They work with policy and delivery teams, clinical networks and the NHS management community to achieve joined-up action.

  • Professor Louis Appleby
  • Dr Ian Barnes
  • Professor Alistair Burns
  • Dr Chris Clough
  • Professor Matthew Cooke
  • Dr Erica Denton
  • Dr Donal O’Donaghue
  • Dr Mike Durkin
  • Hugh Griffiths
  • Charles Gutteridge
  • Professor Sue Hill
  • Dr Rowan Hillson
  • Professor Martin Lombard
  • Dr Anne Mackie
  • Jonathon Mason
  • Professor David Oliver
  • Professor Sir Mike Richards
  • Chris Rudge
  • Joan Saddler
  • Surinder Sharma
  • Dr Sheila Shribman
  • Martin Stephens
  • Roland Valori
  • Professor Keith Willett
  • Anne Williams
  • Dr Robert Winter

Comments are closed.