List of domain names

List of domain names as at 21 October 2011


The UK Government manages the domain name registry in order to signify digital services that are part of the administration of the state, so that they can be identified as authoritative and trustworthy.

The rules governing which organisations are eligible to register domain names and those names that may be used are set out in TG101 Naming and Registering Websites and Social Media Channels.

Public sector bodies may register domain names for a variety of purposes:

  • Email only purposes
  • Websites, including those for campaigns, education, information and transactions
  • Page redirection (e.g. for alternative spellings of domain names)
  • To maintain access to information on the UK Government Website Archive

Domain registration is requested via an Internet Service Provider (ISP) to the technical administrators of the second level domain, JANET(UK). JANET(UK) acts as the domain name registry, holding information on which domain names are registered and who owns them on behalf of Cabinet Office.

Cabinet Office is responsible for approving requests for new domain names and any appeals. The domain name approvals and appeals process is described online.

About the list domains

The list domain names is available in CSV format with the following columns:

  • Domain Name: the domain name registered for use. If intended for use with a Web browser, this should work with or without a preceding ‘www.’
  • Owner: the name of the organisation that owns the domain name, for example a central government department or local authority.


List of domain names as at 21 October 2011 in CSV format
File type: CSV - Comma Separated Value | File size: 183.95 kB

Embed downloads

Publication date: 28/10/2011

Bookmark and Share

Quick Links

Government Efficiency

Resource Library

Cabinet Office Website Survey

To help us understand your needs and improve our website, please fill out this questionnaire. The survey should take 1-2 minutes to complete.