View this site in Welsh Jump to content or navigation. Customise accessibility settings. Sign in or register

Sunday 9th October 2011

Rogiet Primary School awarded for being the best sustainable school building in the UK

Published Tuesday 9th March 2010

Rogiet Primary School was named the UK’s best sustainable school building at the BREEAM Awards 2010 last week.

BREEAM (BRE Environmental Assessment Method) sets the standard for best practice in sustainable design and is the measure used to describe a building's environmental performance. The buildings shortlisted for the Awards scored an excellent rating in the areas of: energy, materials, water, waste, ecology, pollution, transport, management, and health and wellbeing.

Rogiet Primary School opened in November 2009. It was designed by White Design and built by Willmott Dixon Construction Ltd for Monmouthshire County Council.

The project team and BREEAM Assessor worked together from the earliest stages of the project, to ensure that the design and project processes were in place to gain the most sustainable outcomes.

Sustainable principles were integrated with the children's education in ways that included:

  • Landscape design delivering a nature garden area and a pond for wildlife study.
  • An eco wall in the library presenting information on the sustainability aspects of the project, and displays of energy use and rainwater capture.

Derek Downer, Monmouthshire County Council's Head of Property Services said:

"From the very first stages of the project we worked with our partners to ensure that we could deliver an excellent educational facility and meet comprehensive sustainability requirements. This award recognises our achievements and rates Rogiet Primary School as number one in the UK for sustainable schools."

Head teacher at Rogiet Primary School, Kathryn Evans, said:

"We are privileged to have such a fantastic facility in which to learn and are really proud of this award. We're setting the standard for sustainability in schools!"

Further information on the Award winners can be found at