Skip to content

Glossary U

              A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Unique Property Reference Number (UPRN)

Unique Property Reference Numbers (UPRNs) are the unique geographic identifiers used in the National Land and Property Gazetteer (NLPG).

Unitary Administration

'Unitary administrations' is used in this glossary to describe all local authorities that form a single tier of local government - i.e. all UK local authorities except for English counties and non-metropolitan districts. The term therefore covers unitary authorities, metropolitan districts and London boroughs in England; unitary authorities in Wales; council areas in Scotland; and district council areas in Northern Ireland. Note though that the term is not in common use and that it is a generic term rather than one which reflects a specific geographic type.

Unitary Authority (UA)

Unitary authorities (UAs) are areas with a single tier of local government (as opposed to the two-tier county:district structure). In practice the term is only applied to the 22 UAs established across the whole of Wales in 1996, and the 56 UAs established in parts of England between 1995 and 2009. However, London boroughs and metropolitan districts in England, council areas in Scotland and district council areas in Northern Ireland are all also served by single-tier (unitary) administrations.
Further information on UK administrative geography, including maps and lists of area names and codes.

United Kingdom (UK)

The United Kingdom (UK) is the nation state consisting of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

United Kingdom (UK) Statistical Geographies Database

The UK Statistical Geographies Database provides a consistent knowledge base of the range of statistical geographies which are being used across National Statistics (NS).
Full product information; product available online.

Urban Area

There is no single definition of an urban area as there are many different approaches to classifying what is urban. These include approaches based on population, on population density and on land use, and all have different advantages and disadvantages depending on what the classification is being used for. However, the Rural and Urban Area Classification 2004 is now available as a National Statistics standard. This classifies Output Areas and wards as either urban or rural depending on whether the bulk of their population falls in a settlement of greater than 10,000 residents. It also offers subclassifications of urban and rural, based on population density.
Further information.

Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.