A new UK Government took office on 11 May 2010. As a result the content on this site may not reflect current Government policy.
All statutory guidance and legislation published on this site continues to reflect the current legal position unless indicated otherwise.
To view the new website, please visit http://www.education.gov.uk

SEAL curriculum materials: Year by year

Excellence and Enjoyment: social and emotional aspects of learning

Year-group sets

The Social and Emotional Aspect of Learning (SEAL) curriculum materials are organised into colour-coded sets. There is a colour-coded booklet for each theme. In each booklet there are materials for two year groups:

  • Red set – Foundation Stage
  • Blue set – Years 1 and 2
  • Yellow set – Years 3 and 4
  • Green set – Years 5 and 6.

Each colour-coded theme set includes a range of personal, social and health education activities as well as ideas for follow-up work across the curriculum and exemplar lessons that are designed to promote the SEAL objectives in a range of subject areas. In addition to the year-group sets there are:

  • theme overview booklets containing ideas for assemblies and an overview of the theme’s intended learning outcomes for all age groups
  • Purple sets
  • Gold sets
  • Silver sets
  • a guidance booklet
  • a ‘Getting started’ poster
  • whole-school resources.