Excellence and enjoyment: Social and emotional aspects of learning – Changes, Theme overview

Download Publication  PDF file - 930 KB

Publication overview

This guidance contains an overview of the ‘Changes’ theme of primary social and emotional aspects of learning (SEAL). ‘Changes’ aims to give children an understanding of different types of change – positive and negative – and to equip them to manage their feelings.

The publication includes:

  • an introduction to the theme
  • suggestions for conducting a whole-school assembly
  • a story to be read or acted
  • possible variations that can be made to an assembly.

There are eight sets of guidance associated with this theme:

  • assembly/Foundation Stage group time
  • red set (Foundation Stage)
  • blue set (Years 1 and 2)
  • yellow set (Years 3 and 4)
  • green set (Years 5 and 6)
  • purple set (staff development activities)
  • gold set (activities for children to do at home with their parents/carers)
  • silver set (small group activities for children who need additional help with the social, emotional and behavioural skills relevant to this theme).

Who is it for?

Headteachers, teachers and practitioners in primary schools, middle schools, special schools and Foundation Stage settings.