EU birds: Natura 2000

Natura 2000 is the European Union-wide network of protected areas, recognised as ‘sites of Community importance’ under the EC Habitats Directive (Council Directive 92/43/EEC on the conservation of natural habitats and of wild fauna and flora) - The EC Habitats Directive (on Europa website).

The Natura 2000 network includes two types of designated areas: Special Areas of Conservation (SAC) and Special Protection Areas (SPA). SACs are designated under the EC Habitats Directive and SPAs are classified under the EC Wild Birds Directive (Council Directive 79/409/EEC on the conservation of wild birds) - The EC Wild Birds Directive (on Europa website).

Natura 2000 sites are proposed for selection by the statutory nature conservation agencies and are coordinated through the JNCC. Further information on the selection process and full lists of Natura 2000 sites in the UK can be found via the JNCC website:

Page last modified: 23 October 2008
Page published: 23 October 2008

You may also be
interested in...