Latest News

ELC Landscape Award 2010

History of the Awards

The European Landscape Convention (ELC) provided for the creation of a Landscape Award of the Council of Europe to recognise quality stewardship of landscapes. The member states of the ELC agreed the rules for the Award in February 2008.

Those countries wishing to take part will hold a national selection process. The winners of the individual countries then go forward to a Europe-wide round of judging. In 2008, once the rules had been agreed, eight countries took part – the Czech Republic, Finland, France, Hungary, Italy, Slovenia, Spain and Turkey. Each submitted a winner from their national selection process to be presented to the Council of Europe for judging in 2009. Few countries took part in this first year because the awards were new and there was little time to prepare.

The 2009 entries and the results can be viewed on the Council of Europe website.

The winner was France, for the Parc de al Deûle, with the Spanish entry, Parque de Christina Enea, receiving a special mention.

Both the winning entry (France) and the highly commended entry (Spain):

  • had a very high standard of presentation;
  • were long-term projects which had been adding social, economic, cultural, aesthetic and biodiversity value to their regions steadily over a period of years; and
  • demonstrated a high level of public engagement in their development and a significant amount of public benefit in their outcomes.

The Award in the UK

2010 was the first time that the Award had been run in the UK. Entries for the Award opened on 6th April and closed on 27th August 2010. The winner will be announced on 8th November 2010 at the European Landscape Convention Conference in Liverpool. The UK winner will then be submitted to the Council of Europe’s European Landscape Award which will be announced in March 2011.


To raise interest in the awards and the values they embody, a UK-wide group was created to act as Ambassadors for the award. Ambassadors were trained in the range and scope of the awards and approaches for encouraging eligible entries.

Click here for more information on the Landscape Award website