HM Treasury

Newsroom & speeches


18 March 2010

Changes to the Financial Services Authority Board

The Chancellor today announced the appointment of Dame Sandra Dawson and Amanda Davidson as non-executive directors (NEDs) of the Financial Services Authority (FSA). They will take up their posts on 1 May 2010.

The Chancellor, Alistair Darling said:

“I am very pleased to announce the appointment of these new members to the FSA
Board. Their skills, knowledge and background will make a valuable contribution to
the work of the FSA.”

Adair Turner, Chairman of the FSA, said:

"I am very pleased to welcome Sandra and Amanda to the FSA Board. Sandra’s
varied experience of management education, financial services and public service, and Amanda’s strong background in independent financial advice and regulation will
bring vital extra dimensions and balance to the Board’s work.”

Notes for Editors

1. The FSA is a company limited by guarantee. The Board is appointed by the
Treasury in line with the code of practice issued by the Office of the Commissioner
for the Board.

2.  The majority of the Board members are non-executive. In addition to the Chairman
and Chief Executive, there are currently two Managing Directors and ten non-executive
members of the Board.

3.   Dame Sandra is Professor of Management at Cambridge University where she has
also been a Deputy Vice Chancellor since 2008. At Cambridge, since 1995 she has
held various other roles including Master, Sidney Sussex College, and Director of
Judge Business School. She was at Imperial College, University of London from 1969
to 1995 ultimately as Professor of Organisational Behaviour. Her financial services
experience includes non-executive roles at Barclays Plc (2003-2009), and Fleming
Claverhouse Investment Trust (1996-2003) and on the advisory board of Alchemy
Partners (2000-2003).

4.  Amanda Davidson has been a Director of Baigrie Davies, an Independent Financial
Adviser, since 2005. Her previous career includes Directorship of Holden Meehan
where she was involved in the sale of the business to Bradford &  Bingley in
2003. Among other board positions, she was a founding Director of Chase De Vere.
Her regulatory experience includes serving on the Board of the Personal Investment
Authority from 1999 to 2001. Amanda also served on the Membership and
Disciplinary, and Audit Committees of the PIA. She was a member of the FSA’s
Regulatory Decisions Committee from 2001 to 2006 and she is a current member of
the FSA’s Financial Capability Steering Group. Since 2006, she has been Deputy
Chair of the Association of Independent Financial Advisers (AIFA) and a council
member since 1999. She is a Governor of Channing School.

Non-media enquiries should be addressed to the Treasury Correspondence and Enquiry Unit on 020 7270 4558 or by e-mail to

This Press Release and other Treasury publications are available on the HM Treasury website For the latest information from HM Treasury you can subscribe to our RSS feeds or email service.

Media enquiries should be addressed to the Treasury Press Office on 020 7270 5238.

Back to top