HM Treasury

Newsroom & speeches


25 November 2009

2009 Government Finance Profession Awards

The Government Finance Profession (GFP) is delighted to announce the winners of the twelve awards for excellence in financial management presented on Thursday 19 November at a ceremony in Brighton.

The award winners were:




Katrina Tully

Ministry of Justice

Outstanding Contribution to the Profession

Andrew Oldham

Nuclear Decommissioning Authority

Innovation in Government

David Thorpe

Department for Work & Pensions

Boss of the Year


Curtis Juman

UK Trade & Industry

Mentor of the Year


Jessica D’Aulerio

Foreign & Commonwealth Office

Government's Accounting Technician of the Year

Thomas Burnell

Defence Equipment & Support

PQ of the Year

Helen McNulty

Department for Work & Pensions

NQ of the Year

Economic Downturn Team

Jobcentre Plus

Finance Team of the Year

Unmanned Air Systems Project Team

Ministry of Defence

Finance Team of the Year

Financial Information & Accounts Branch

Department of Health

Project Team of the Year

Robert Wright

Judicial Appointments Commission

Personality of the Year

Finance Team

Higher Education Funding Council for England

Sustainability Award

Elizabeth Dobson

Department for Transport

Unsung Hero

Richard Douglas

Department of Health

Head of the GFP's Award for Lifetime Achievement

Notes for editors

1. This is the third year that these Awards have been held. This year saw the introduction of a new category “Government’s Technician of the Year” , thereby recognising the number of civil servants who have undertaken the Association of Accounting Technicians (AAT) qualification.

2. There were two Finance Team of the Year awards. May Smith collect the award on behalf of the Economic Downturn Team within Jobcentre Plus. Les Campbell, Financial Controller the award on behalf of the Unmanned Air Systems Project Team.

3. The award for Sustainability was collected by Ian Lewis, Head of Finance at the Higher Education Funding Council for England.

4. The Government Finance Profession represents the 9,000 strong community of qualified and trainee accountants in central government. The awards were presented at the GFP conference on 19 November, in conjunction with the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants; the Association of Accounting Technicians, the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants; the Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy, Deloitte, NQ Magazine and PQ Magazine.

Non-media enquiries should be addressed to the Treasury Correspondence and Enquiry Unit on 020 7270 4558 or by e-mail to

This Press Release and other Treasury publications are available on the HM Treasury website For the latest information from HM Treasury you can subscribe to our RSS feeds or email service.

Media enquiries should be addressed to the Treasury Press Office on 020 7270 5238.

Back to top