HM Treasury

International issues

UK Presidency of the EU, 1 July to 31 December 2005 - Overview and policy priorities

UK Presidency of the EU logo

The UK held the Presidency of the EU from 1 July 2005 until 31 December 2005. Austria now holds the Presidency of the EU. Find further information about the Austrian Presidency here.


HM Treasury is responsible for coordinating HM Government’s work on the Economic and Financial Affairs Council (ECOFIN). ECOFIN is a Council of the European Union composed of the Finance Ministers from the 25 Member States. It meets regularly to co-ordinate economic and financial policy in order to deliver growth and prosperity across the Union. During the UK Presidency ECOFIN will meet 5 times. The Chancellor will chair these meetings and the Paymaster General will take the UK seat. In September ECOFIN will meeting informally in Manchester.

ECOFIN’s key responsibilities include:

Policy Priorities:

New global economic trends present both opportunities and challenges to which policy makers in Europe need to respond. The Government will aim, through the Presidency and beyond, to develop a consensus on the need for a more Global Europe: a Europe which by becoming more outward-looking and embracing greater flexibility in labour, product and capital markets, delivers high employment for all its citizens.

Back to top