About Us

The Prime Minister launched the Commission on the Future of Nursing and Midwifery on March 10, 2009. It is due to report by March 2010. It covers England only, and considers midwifery and all branches of nursing, in all settings, services and sectors.

The PM has asked the Commission to do the following:

  • Identify the competencies, skills and support that frontline nurses and midwives need to take a central role in the design and delivery of 21st century services for those that are sick and to promote health and well-being. In particular, to identify any barriers that impede the pivotal role that ward sisters/charge nurses/community team leaders provide.
  • Identify the potential and benefits for nurses and midwives, particularly in primary and community care, of leading and managing their own services.
  • Engage with the professions, patients and the public in an interactive and robust dialogue which will identify challenges and opportunities for nurses and midwives.

The 20 Commissioners are leaders in nursing and midwifery practice, management, education and research, as listed below (click on the link to see their biographies and photos).

They will call on a number of experts for advice on specific issues including workforce planning, regulation and international perspectives. These expert advisers include:

  • Professor James Buchan, School of Health Sciences, Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh
  • Professor Linda Aiken, Director of the Center for Health Outcomes and Policy Research, University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing, Philadelphia, USA
  • Professor Fiona Ross, Dean and Professor of Primary Care Nursing at Kingston University, London
  • Professor Dickon Weir-Hughes, Chief Executive and Registrar of the Nursing and Midwifery Council.

The Members of the Commission

The Commission is assisted by a Support Office hosted in the Department of Health. Its joint leads are Ursula Gallagher, Matthew Hamilton and Jane Salvage. Other team members are Juliette Glenn, Patricia Nicholas and Amanda Paul.

  • Ann Keen,  Parliamentary Under Secretary for Health Services
  • Gail Adams, Head of Nursing, Unison
  • Christine Beasley, Chief Nursing Officer for England, Department of Health
  • Sue Bernhauser, Dean, Human and Health Sciences, University of Huddersfield; Chair, Council of Deans of Health UK
  • Kuldip Bharj, Senior Lecturer in Midwifery and Lead Midwife for Education, University of Leeds
  • Peter Carter, Chief Executive/General Secretary, Royal College of Nursing
  • Dawn Chapman, Consultant Nurse, Cambridge Breast Unit, Addenbrooke’s Hospital, Cambridge
  • Baroness Emerton, House of Lords
  • Elizabeth Fradd, Independent Health Service Adviser
  • Judith Griffin, Chief Executive, NHS Blackburn with Darwen PCT
  • Donna Kinnair, Director of Nursing, Southwark Primary Care Trust
  • Heather Lawrence, Chief Executive, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, London
  • Jo Pritchard, Joint Managing Director, Central Surrey Health
  • Anne-Marie Rafferty, Dean/Head of the Florence Nightingale School of Nursing and Midwifery, King’s College London
  • Claire Rayner, President, The Patients Association
  • Laura Serrant-Green, Professor of Community and Public Health Nursing, University of Lincoln
  • Janice Sigsworth, Director of Nursing, Imperial Healthcare NHS Trust, London
  • Eileen Sills, Chief Nurse, Guys and St Thomas NHS Foundation Trust, London
  • Tamar Thompson, Senior Advisor External Affairs/ Lead Nurse, NHS Institute for Innovation and Improvement
  • Cathy Warwick, General Secretary, Royal College of Midwives
  • Ray Walker, Director of Nursing, Governance and Performance, 5 Boroughs Partnership NHS Trust