Advanced search
Travel & living abroad



Montenegro flag

(formerly part of the State Union of Serbia and Montenegro)

Last reviewed: 23 November 2009

Country information

Map of Montenegro

Capital City: Podgorica (administrative centre) and Cetinje (historic/cultural capital)
Area: 13,812 sq km
Population: 672,180. (July 2009 estimate - CIA World Factbook).
Major Languages: Montenegrin, Serbian, Bosnian, Albanian, and Croatian.
Major Religions and Denominations: Christianity (Eastern Orthodoxy and Catholicism), Islam.
Currency: Euro
Major Political Parties: Democratic Party of Socialists (DPS), Social Democratic Party (SDP), Movement for Change (PZP), Socialist People's Party (SNP), People's Socialist Party (NSS), People's Party (NS), Democratic Serb Party (DSS), New Serb Democracy (NSD or NOVA), Party of Serb Radicals (SSR), Serb People's Party (SNS), Liberal Party (LP), Party of Democratic Prosperity (PDP), Croatian Civic Initiative (HGI), Bosniak Party (BS), Democratic Party of Unity (DSJ), Democratic Union of Albanians (DUA), Democratic Alliance of Albanians (DSA), Albanian Alternative (AA).
Montenegro Parliament: 81 seats (elected by direct vote every four years)
Head of State: President Filip Vujanovic (DPS)
Prime Minister: Milo Djukanovic (DPS)
Foreign Minister: Milan Rocen (DPS)
Membership of International Organisations: United Nations (UN), Organisation for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE), Council of Europe (CoE), International Monetary Fund (IMF), World Bank (WB), European Bank of Reconstruction and Development (EBRD), Central European Initiative (CEI), International Labour Organisation (ILO), United Nations World Tourism Organisation (UNWTO), the South Eastern Europe Co-operation Process (SEECP) and the Stability Pact.
Currently applying for membership of the following International Organisations: World Trade Organisation (WTO).

Country information

Pick Another Country :