About the British Transport Police information

The British Transport Police (BTP) is the national police force for the railways providing a policing service to rail operators, their staff and passengers throughout England, Wales and Scotland.

The BTP is also responsible for policing the London Underground system, the Docklands Light Railway, the Midland Metro Tram System and Croydon Tramlink.

The BTP Authority was established on 1 July 2004 under the Railways and Transport Safety Act 2003. The Authority, which is classified as an executive Non Departmental Public Body of the Department for Transport, has a statutory duty to maintain an efficient and effective police force for the railways.

The BTP is funded by the rail industry and the Authority is responsible for setting its annual budget. The Chair of the Authority and other members, consisting of a mix of industry and non-industry members, are appointed directly by the Secretary of State for Transport.

Archived content

The following content is available from the Department for Transport web archive .

For related documents, pages and internet links, see the column on the right.