Latest traffic information

Breadcrumb Navigation

You are here:

  1. Home »
  2. Road Projects »
  3. How We Manage Our Roads »
  4. Area Teams »
  5. Area 7

Website Navigation

Useful Links


Better information for your journey

The National Traffic Control Centre collects real-time information on road conditions.

Quick Links

How We Manage Our Roads

In this section you can find out more about how we manage and maintain these roads and plan for the future

The Project Control Framework

On 1st April 2008 we launched the Project Control Framework. The Framework sets out how we, together with the Department for Transport, manage and deliver major improvement projects.

Traffic news on your desktop

Helpful ways to access the latest traffic information when you need it.

Area 7

The New Area 7

The latest news from Area 7

Welcome to the Area 7, East Midlands home page. This page is designed to inform you about what is happening in the East Midlands Region.

From effect of the 1st July 2009, there have been some changes taking place. The East Midlands region will still be known as Area 7; however, the area's boundaries will change to mirror the existing Government Office for the East Midlands boundaries.

The Highways Agency has appointed A-one+ (a joint venture of Halcrow/Colas/Costain) as it's Managing Agent Contractor (MAC) for East Midlands (Area-7) and will be entrusting it with the responsibility of managing its trunk roads and motorway network from the 1st of July 2009 within this revised boundary. Together we will manage and maintain the motorways and trunk roads in the East Midlands.

Paul Cockell, Area Performance Manager for the East Midlands said:

"The new MAC contract for Area 7 will bring all the operational and maintenance functions on our roads in the East Midlands together into one Highways Agency region for the first time. The contract will deliver a number of benefits which people will start to notice over the coming months. In addition, A-one+ is already well established in delivering our services in the North East and North West of England allowing us to benefit from their experience in other regions."

The new Area 7 East Midlands region covers:

  • M1 from Junction 30 to south of Junction 15
  • M6 Junction 1 to M1 Junction 19
  • M45
  • M69 between Junction 1 and M1
  • A1 Blyth in Nottinghamshire to Stamford in Lincolnshire
  • A5 between Atherstone and Old Stratford, Milton Keynes
  • A6 Alvaston bypass
  • A14 between Thrapston and the M1 Junction 19
  • A38 between Burnaston and the M1 Junction 28
  • A42 from the M1 to the M42
  • A43 between the M40 Junction 10 and M1 Junction 15a
  • A45 between Thrapston and the M1 Junction 15
  • A46 between Lincoln and M1 Junction 21a
  • A50 Junction 1 to M1 junction 24A
  • A52 between the A1 at Barrowby and Spondon, Derby
  • A453 between Nottingham and M1 Junction 23A
  • A5111 from the A52 at Spondon to the A6 Alvaston bypass

Map of Area 7

Area 7 location map