Access Key Definitions
Skip navigation
Access key details
Home page
Latest updates
Site map
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
Terms and conditions
National Curriculum

Welcome to the new primary curriculum

To play the video tour, you will need a Javascript enabled browser and Adobe® Flash Player

You could also view the transcript of the video

About the new primary curriculum

A school's curriculum should help its children become the very best they can be. Following an independent review, a new curriculum has been developed to prepare our children for the opportunities and challenges of life in the 21st century.

It is a chance for all primary schools to evaluate their curriculum and think again about teaching and learning in the context of school improvement.

Find out more about the new primary curriculum

What's in the new curriculum?

The primary curriculum has been redesigned. The new curriculum includes: curriculum aims; essentials for learning and life; six areas of learning; religious education. The curriculum introduces a statutory requirement for languages at key stage 2 and meets statutory requirements for inclusion (Including all learners) and health and safety. The new curriculum becomes statutory in 2011.

Features of the new primary curriculum

Curriculum aims

The National Curriculum has three broad aims. It should enable all young people to become:

  • successful learners who enjoy learning, make progress and achieve 

  • confident individuals who are able to live safe, healthy and fulfilling lives 

  • responsible citizens who make a positive contribution to society.

These aims should inform all aspects of teaching and learning and be the starting point for curriculum design.

Find out more about the curriculum aims

Essentials for learning and life

The essentials for learning and life describe the skills, attitudes and dispositions that children need to become well-rounded individuals and lifelong learners. They include literacy, numeracy and ICT capability, learning and thinking skills, and personal, social and emotional skills.

Find out more about the essentials for learning and life

Six areas of learning and RE

The areas of learning capture the essential knowledge, key skills and understanding that children need to develop as they progress through their primary years.

There are six areas of learning:

Understanding the arts
Developing creativity and imagination

Understanding English, communication and languages
Developing communication and language skills 

Historical, geographical and social understanding
Understanding how the past shapes the present and the future and how people, places and environments are interconnected

Mathematical understanding
Understanding mathematics and its use in everyday life

Understanding physical development, health and wellbeing
Understanding what makes a healthy, active and fulfilling life 

Scientific and technological understanding
Understanding the natural and made worlds and the relationship between science and technology.

Religious education is a statutory subject with a non-statutory programme of learning in the new primary curriculum. The Education Act 1996 requires schools to offer religious education to all children, unless their parents withdraw them from the provision.  All schools, other than voluntary-aided schools and those of a religious character, must teach RE according to the locally agreed syllabus.

Find out more about the six areas of learning and re

Languages and other new requirements

The new curriculum introduces a statutory requirement for all children to learn a modern foreign language from the age of seven. Dance, drama and citizenship also become part of the statutory curriculum through the new areas of learning.


The curriculum should provide relevant and challenging learning to all children. It should follow the three principles set out in Including all learners.

Find out more about the inclusion

Health and safety

If children are working with tools, equipment and materials on practical activities, sometimes in unfamiliar places, they will need to be taught about hazards and risks. They should know how to spot hazards, assess risks and be able to manage them. They should also know what to do to protect the health and safety of themselves and others when they are working in particular environments.

A curriculum built on good design principles can offer children experiences that motivate, challenge and instil a love of lifelong learning.

Essential skills that children need to become well-rounded individuals and lifelong learners

Find an area of learning by using the dropdown below

Aims, values and purposes underpin the school curriculum and the work of schools.

Back to top