Jump to content
Login / Register

Sign up here
Forgot Password?

CAMHS: Four-tier strategic framework

Child and adolescent mental health services (CAMHS) deliver services in line with a four-tier strategic framework which is now widely accepted as the basis for planning, commissioning and delivering services. Although there is some variation in the way the framework has been developed and applied across the country, it has created a common language for describing and commissioning services.

Most children and young people with mental health problems will be seen at Tiers 1 and 2. However, it is important to bear in mind that neither services nor people fall neatly into tiers.  For example, many practitioners work in both Tier 2 and Tier 3 services.

Similarly, there is often a misconception that a child or young person will move up through the tiers as their condition is recognised as more complex. In reality, some children require services from a number (or even all) of the tiers at the same time.

The model is not intended as a template that must be applied rigidly, but rather as a conceptual framework for ensuring that a comprehensive range of services is commissioned and available to meet all the mental health needs of children and young people in an area, with clear referral routes between tiers.

Tier 1

CAMHS at this level are provided by practitioners who are not mental health specialists working in universal services; this includes GPs, health visitors, school nurses, teachers, social workers, youth justice workers and voluntary agencies.

Practitioners will be able to offer general advice and treatment for less severe problems, contribute towards mental health promotion, identify problems early in their development, and refer to more specialist services.

Tier 2

Practitioners at this level tend to be CAMHS specialists working in community and primary care settings in a uni-disciplinary way (although many will also work as part of Tier 3 services).

For example, this can include primary mental health workers, psychologists and counsellors working in GP practices, paediatric clinics, schools and youth services.

Practitioners offer consultation to families and other practitioners, outreach to identify severe or complex needs which require more specialist interventions, assessment (which may lead to treatment at a different tier), and training to practitioners at Tier 1.

Tier 3

This is usually a multi-disciplinary team or service working in a community mental health clinic or child psychiatry outpatient service, providing a specialised service for children and young people with more severe, complex and persistent disorders.

Team members are likely to include child and adolescent psychiatrists, social workers, clinical psychologists, community psychiatric nurses, child psychotherapists, occupational therapists, art, music and drama therapists.

Tier 4

These are essential tertiary level services for children and young people with the most serious problems, such as day units, highly specialised outpatient teams and in-patient units. These can include secure forensic adolescent units, eating disorders units, specialist neuro-psychiatric teams, and other specialist teams (e.g. for children who have been sexually abused), usually serving more than one district or region.

Practitioner agencies

Practitioners working in CAMHS will be employed by a range of agencies. Many (but not all) of those working at Tier 1, for example, will be employed directly by the Primary care trust (PCT) or the local authority (LA).

CAMHS specialists working at Tier 2 are less likely to be working for the PCT (although some of them might be), and more likely to be working for another NHS trust (or the LAs in the case of educational psychologists).

Most practitioners working in the more specialised services at Tiers 3 and 4 will usually be working for other types of NHS trust (such as mental health trusts, acute trusts or care trusts, for example).

Clear supervisory arrangements and structures should be in place to ensure accountable and safe service delivery.

Where service delivery demands effective partnerships between agencies (e.g. children and young people with complex, persistent and severe behavioural disorders) joint protocols should be agreed at senior officer level between the NHS, social services and education.

Download the contents of this page: docas a Word Document

Last updated on 07/01/2010