International organisations

International co-operation, such as the gathering of global observational information, is essential to the work of all national weather services. Several intergovernmental organisations have been set up as an efficient way to co-ordinate these activities and share resources for research, education, training and technical methodologies.

World Meteorological Organization

WMO logo. World map in blue on target background, topped with a star and surrounded by leaves

The World Meteorological Organization (WMO) is a specialised agency of the United Nations, comprising of 188 Country Members and based in Geneva.


  • To promote standardisation of meteorological and related observations and ensure the uniform publication of observations and statistics.
  • To further the application of meteorology to aviation, shipping, agriculture and other human activities.
  • To promote activities in operational hydrology and close co-operation between meteorological and hydrological services.
  • To encourage research and training in meteorology and related fields
  • Assist in co-ordinating the international aspects of such research and training
  • Facilitate worldwide co-operation in the establishment and maintenance of observation networks.
  • Promote the establishment and maintenance of systems for the rapid exchange of meteorological and related information.


ECMWF logo. The word ECMWF written in blue on a white background

The European Centre for Medium-range Weather Forecasts (ECMWF) is an intergovernmental organisation supported by 18 European States — Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom.


  • The development of numerical methods for medium-range weather forecasting
  • The preparation of medium-range weather forecasts for distribution to the meteorological services of the Member States.
  • Scientific and technical research aimed at improving forecasts
  • The collection and storage of appropriate meteorological data


EUMETSAT logo. The word EUMETSAT superimposed over na image of the earth from space.

EUMETSAT is an intergovernmental organisation created through an international convention agreed by 18 European Member States — Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom. These States fund the EUMETSAT programmes and are the principal users of the systems.

EUMETSAT also has nine co-operating states: Slovak Republic, Hungary, Poland, Croatia, Republic of Serbia and Montenegro, Slovenia, Romania, the Czech Republic and Latvia.

EUMETSAT’s primary objective is to establish, maintain and exploit European systems of operational meteorological satellites. EUMETSAT is responsible for the launch and operation of the satellites and for delivering satellite data to end users, as well as contributing to the operational monitoring of climate and the detection of global climate change.


EUMETNET logo. The word EUMETNET written in black on a white background

EUMETNET is a network grouping of 19 European national meteorological services which aims to make more efficient use of resources. It provides a framework to organise co-operative programmes between its members in fields such as data processing, basic forecasting products and research and development. Through EUMETNET programmes, the members aim to develop their collective capability to serve environment management and climate monitoring and provide all European users with the highest quality meteorological information.


ECOMET logo. The letters ECOMETwritten in black on a white background over an image of Europe

ECOMET (the Economic Interest Grouping of the national meteorological services of the European Economic Area) was set up in 1995 to ensure fair competition in the field of meteorological services.


  • Preserve the exchange of free data sets and products between members
  • Help members maintain and improve infrastructure
  • Expand availability of meteorological information within the ECOMET territory
  • Increase the use and to improve the distribution of data, products and services of the members while maintaining and improving quality.
  • Create the right conditions for members to develop economic activities

Conference of Commonwealth Meteorologists

The Conference of Commonwealth Meteorologists (CCM) is an informal network of the heads of the 53 Commonwealth meteorological and hydrological services. It meets once every four years to give directors the opportunity to discuss and resolve issues of mutual concern.

CCM is also continually working to provide and improve weather, climate and environmental services throughout the world.