Award Categories banner

The range of categories for the 2009 Awards recognise the diverse ways in which excellent care can be achieved:

  1. Mental Health Wellbeing
  2. Leadership for Improvement
  3. People's Award For Dignity in Care
  4. Transforming Services
  5. Improving Health and Reducing Inequalities
  6. Patient Safety
  7. Adopt, Adapt and Improve
  8. Innovative Health and Social Care Technology
  9. Success in Partnership Working
  10. Excellence in Commissioning
  11. NHS Live (awarded at National level only)
  12. Low Carbon
  13. Primary Care and Community Services Pathways Award
  14. Innovative Acute Care

Each category has been reviewed and agreed by the Secretary of State for Health and the NHS Chief Executive to make sure they reflect the current priorities in social care and health.

How each Award Category is judged

Applications must comply with:

a)    The core criteria for all applications (outlined below)
b)    category-specific criteria

Core Criteria

All applications must demonstrate:

a)  Significant improvement through innovative ways of working
b)  Positive benefits for patients, service users, carers and staff
c)  Evidence of research and evaluation
d)  Potential for sustainability and spread of benefits
e)  A people-centred approach
f)  Leadership, team-working and co-operation
g)   Involvement of patients, service users and the public
h)  Value for money and ongoing affordability

Category-Specific Criteria

In addition to the Core Criteria, each application must comply with criteria specific to the Award category for which they are applying.  Please click on the above categories to see their criteria.

Are you eligible?
Past Ceremony Photos