royalnavy.mod.ukTop Class Employer with Top Class People
Royal NavyRoyal Navy

HM The Queen appoints new Honorary Officers in the RNR

In recognition of their service to the sea and Britain 's maritime heritage, The Queen recently approved the appointment of eight new Honorary Officers in the Royal Naval Reserve.

The Lord Lieutenant of Belfast , Lady Carswell OBE, becomes an Honorary Captain as does the Master of RMS Queen Mary 2 and Commodore of the Cunard Fleet, Ron Warwick RD. Having flown the Blue Ensign of the Naval Reserve whilst Master of the QE2 he was recently issued with a Warrant to fly the Blue Ensign in QM2. In flying the Blue Ensign he joins a line of illustrious Cunarders including RMS Queen Mary, QE2, Mahseer, Manipur, Carmania, Carpathia, Lusitania, Mauretania going way back to 1888 when the Umbria was the first Cunard Steam Ship to be awarded a Warrant to fly the Blue Ensign.

For some years the rank of Honorary Lieutenant-Commander had lain dormant and in 2004, the First Sea Lord, Admiral Sir Alan West, was keen to ensure that some younger people who could project the naval image filled these appointments. The appointments for 2004 included the mountaineer, adventurer and expedition leader Bear Grylls and, in a timely fashion, Ellen MacArthur who recently completed her record-breaking circumnavigation of the world and who was subsequently appointed DBE. The appointments for 2005 include James Stevens, who has been very supportive of sailing in the naval service and Ian Robinson, the Military Liaison Officer on the Island of Jersey .

Two clerical appointments were made, the first to the Right Reverend Bill Ind, Bishop of Truro and the second to Reverend John Williams who has a long association with the RNR unit HMS Eaglet in Liverpool .

Honorary Officers in the Royal Naval Reserve

HRH The Prince Michael of Kent GCVO, Honorary Rear Admiral (Maritime Reserve)

Honorary Commodore The Right Honourable The Lord Sterling of Plaistow Kt GCVO CBE

Honorary Commodore Sir Donald Gosling Kt KCVO

Honorary Captain Mrs Mary Fagan JP [2000]

Honorary Captain Mr Eric Dancer CBE JP [2000]

Honorary Captain The Lord Browne of Madingley [2002]

Honorary Captain Robert B Woods CBE [2002]

Honorary Captain The Lady Romayne Carswell OBE [2004]

Honorary Captain Ronald Warwick [2005]

Honorary Captain (Supernumerary) The Duke of Buccleugh and Queensberry KT VRD JP


Honorary Commander E J Billington

Honorary Commander P R Moore RD *

Honorary Commander Angus Buchanan [2002]

Honorary Commander Stephen Howarth [2003]

Honorary Commander (Supernumerary) Sir Robin Gillett Bt GBE RD

Honorary Commander (Supernumerary) F A Mason MBE

Honorary Lieutenant Commander Bear Grylls [2004]

Honorary Lieutenant Commander Dame Ellen MacArthur DBE [2004]

Honorary Lieutenant Commander James E Stevens [2005]

Honorary Lieutenant Commander Ian Robinson [2005]

Honorary Chaplain the Right Reverend William Ind [2004]

Honorary Chaplain the Reverend John Williams MBE [2005]

Honorary Chaplain (Supernumerary) the Right Reverend M A P Woods DSC MA (CofE)