Project Governance

A Steering Group has been established to help drive the project forward and is chaired by Professor Dame Carol Black (Chair, Academy of Medical Royal Colleges).

Steering Group Members

  • Paul Allen (Executive Director of Leadership, NHS Institute)
  • Prof David Black (Postgraduate Dean, Kent, Surrey and Sussex Deanery / Conference of Postgraduate Medical Education Deans)
  • Sir Graeme Catto (President, General Medical Council)  
  • John Clark (Project Sponsor, NHS Institute)
  • Prof Neil Douglas (President, Royal College of Physicians in Edinburgh / Academy of Medical Royal Colleges)
  • Prof Steve Field (Chairman, Royal College of General Practitioners)
  • Dr Ashley Fraser (Medical Director, NHS Employers)
  • Dr Charles Gutteridge (Chair of Medical Directors subgroup, Association of UK University Hospitals) 
  • Dr Mike Jones (Chair of Specialist Training Committee, Academy of Medical Royal Colleges)
  • Prof Sir Bruce Keogh (Medical Director, NHS)  
  • Dr David Scott (Chairman, Medical Managers Subcommittee, British Medical Association)
  • Prof Stephen Smith (Principal and Chief Executive, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust / Medical Schools Council)
  • Prof Peter Spurgeon (Project Director, NHS Institute)
  • William Thomas (Vice President, The Royal College of Surgeons of England)
  • Barbara Wood (Chair of Patient Lay Group, Academy of Medical Royal Colleges)

Project Team Members

  • Prof Peter Spurgeon – Project Director and Academic Advisor
  • John Clark – Project Sponsor
  • Isobel Down – Project Lead, Undergraduate and Spread and Adoption Workstreams
  • Penny Lewis – Project Lead, Postgraduate Workstream
  • Sue Balderson – Project Lead, Post-specialist Certification and Framework Workstream  
  • Dr Chris Clough – Medical Advisor, Postgraduate Workstream
  • Dr Manjit Obhrai – Medical Advisor, Post-specialist Certification Workstream
  • Dr Veronica Wilkie – Medical Advisor
  • Dr Jean Ker – Medical Advisor, Scotland
  • Julie Dent – Consultant
  • Kirsten Armit – Senior Project Manager
  • Joanna Taylor – Project Manager
  • Tracy Lonetto – Project Administrator